Skip to content
February 3, 2012 / Happy Dietitian

10 Places You’ve Probably Never Been to in Hong Kong

By: Wendy Wu, R.D., M.S.

I’m super excited that one of my closest friends is coming to Hong Kong! To plan her itinerary, I ventured out and explored the fancy and ghetto parts of this lovely island and that’s how I came about this list.

Sham Shui Po

1) Sham Shui Po is one of the best places to go for CHEAP local food. On the weekends, there are lines for almost all of the restaurants. I decided to try Eat Together Noodles this time, but last week I had Lau Sum Kee Noodles. Both places were great. Sham Shui Po is also home to the fabric market. If you’re looking for fabrics, ribbons, buttons, or cheap clothes this is where you want to go.

Eat Together:

     

Lau Sum Kee:

   

Dragon Centre. I went there specifically for the Freshly made Dragon Candy and Peanut Mochi. The mall is on the crappy side.

     

2) Temple Street night market in Jordan (okay fine, maybe you’ve been here before =D)

   

3) Snoopy World in Sha Tin

   

4) 五代同糖 Hong Kong Style Dessert Chain

   

5) San Xi Lou authentic Sichuan Cuisine and Hot Pot. Make sure you drink plenty of five flower tea after this meal.

   

6) The Living Room at W hotel

   

7) Fantastic view at Cafe Gray for drinks

   

8) Thai food at Nitaya Thai House

   

9) Sai Kung for Seafood straight from the ocean

   

10) Dessert at Xiao Tian Gu

   

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities / Feb 4 2012 11:16 pm

    I went to Hong Kong for my 18th birthday, HOLY MOLY was it spectacular!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sites, the people, the hustle and bustle, the awesome street markets, the crazy malls, all the technology, the food, the connected buildings, the culture, the history… EVERYTHING was phenomenal! I am so jealous of my brother too because he is going to be moving there for two months at the end of May! I think I will be visiting him though at the end of July, so YES!!!!!

    • Happy Dietitian / Feb 4 2012 11:47 pm

      Hong Kong is really a great place to live. It’s so international! How awesome that your brother is moving here. He probably got a great job offer I assume. They actually pay employees very high salaries to my surprise. Where are you located?

Trackbacks

  1. Top Hong Kong Local Eats « Happy Dietitian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 420 other followers

