Skip to content
July 2, 2012 / Happy Dietitian

Becoming a Registered Dietitian

By: Wendy Wu MS, RD

This post is for those of you who are considering a career as a Registered Dietitian or is interested in the process of becoming a RD.

happy dietitian

Exploring…

Like most other college students, I had no idea what I wanted to major in during my freshman year at Queens College. I was just happy and grateful to have gotten into the college of my choice. Going into college, I knew that I wanted a career which would allow me to help people. I didn’t know how, but I loved the social sciences so I took some introductory courses to test my appetite. Anthropology 101, Sociology 101, Psychology 101, Nutrition 101, etc. Psychology and Sociology quickly dropped out but I think it was because I had really boring professors-which in turn, made the subject really dull. I was intrigued with Anthropology and took as many classes as I could the following years. However, I realized that finding work in this area will be quite difficult so I decided to minor in Anthropology instead. Nutrition 101 was taught by a highly respected and no bullshit professor. She would give pop quizzes based on the reading assignments (so you better do the readings) and her exams were in essay form which meant you better know everything or you’ll fail! In retrospect, her classes were the most difficult of all my years in QC. After passing her class, I had an inkling that I would do pretty well in this field so I signed up for more nutrition classes.

happy dietitian

Give me some Guidance please…
I’m sitting in the guidance counselors office and she asks me. So what do you want to major in? I tell her, nutrition. Her response: Majoring in nutrition will narrow your options. Why not consider a career in dietetics? Your grades show that you are doing well in this field. Me: Urrrrr….but that means I have to take chemistry-yikes! I hated chemistry and physics in high-school but after much thought, I decided that yes, I would major in dietetics.

Everything that dietetics had to offer, I loved. Science of Food, Family and Consumer Sciences, Family Relations, Food service, Meal Planning and Management, Experimental Foods, Cultural Foods, Clinical Nutrition, Biology and even Chemistry (which was a shocker for me). I distinctly remember my chemistry professor telling me that I should consider a career in this field. Yeah, I laughed out loud but was secretly swelling with pride. Me, a chemist? Ha!

I did well in those classes because I felt a connection to the subject matter. I was learning about the world around me in a way that I understood it-being kind to others, caring, helping, and healing with food. It also helped that I love to eat. If I had conformed to the stereotypical careers of my other Asian friends, I would probably be an accountant, or in some other finance job. *shivers* (No offense-it’s just not for me) Unless!…I’m an accountant working for Chanel and get 70% off their merchandise. Nah, I’ll still be miserable even with all the perks.

happy dietitian

You mean I have to pay for the internship?!…
This was a big shocker for me but it’s my own fault for not doing more research. Towards my last year in QC, I learned that I would have to apply for a internship and that it would cost anywhere between $10,000-$30,000. Yes, my jaw dropped. I thought most people get paid to intern?  Nope, not in this field and it’s highly competitive too. You can choose to do just the internship, do both the internship and MS/MA in one/two years or do the internship and work on the MS/MA at your convenience. I chose the later. I didn’t even bother applying to Sodexho, Aramark, or Stony Brook. I didn’t have a year or two to just study and work for free, I needed to get a paying job ASAP. I did a little research, consulted with my fellow classmates and decided to stay with Queens College for my internship. My GPA, relationship with the professors, professionalism, involvement with student clubs (Jr. ADA-President and PhiU-Secretary), and work experience (food service in restaurants and children’s hospital) was what made me stand out amongst the other applicants. It also helped that I had a really good relationship with the internship director (hey, you gotta do what you gotta do). The Queens College internship was great because it killed two birds with one stone. I gained experience in the real world and was earning credits toward my MS. Advised by a fellow classmate, I took my internship experience into my own hands. I knew where I wanted to intern and asked my internship director to push for those locations.

Community Nutrition Round 1: City Harvest

I loved loved loved interning for city harvest-mostly because I adore and respect my preceptor who was the director of nutrition education. I was involved in almost all of the programs and absorbed it all like a sponge. My most memorable experience was a day in the City Harvest Truck. I followed this lovely man around Manhattan collecting food donations from banks, supermarkets, small food shops, etc. It was such a fun day. Other projects I was involved in were participating in mobile markets (handing out produce to  people living in neighborhoods of NY that didn’t have access to fresh food), teaching a nutrition education/cooking demo class at a after school program (Operation Frontline), a one day exploration as a health inspector, creating a game for the mobile market, data entry for the fruit bowl program, helping out at various nutrition education programs, and earning a food handler (soup kitchen) certification and servsafe certification. The nutrition education department at city harvest is truly amazing and I highly recommend students intern with them.

Food Service Round 2: FLIK International

I was kindly assigned to intern at a small private school in kew gardens. I honestly have to say I didn’t learn much from this internship only because I have so much experience already in the food service world. Daily work included preparing, cooking and serving meals. I was quite bored but looked forward to monthly menu planning and ordering food.

Clinical Nutrition Round 3: Terence Cardinal Cooke Health Care Center

I remember being so nervous about clinical rounds. There’s just so much dietitians have to learn and it’s hard keeping up with all the changes in this fairly new field. It seems like every other day, there are new recommendations as a result of new scientific studies. The first few weeks were difficult. Really difficult. The first dietitian I was assigned to follow around for the week made sure I suffered in the most hardest and cruel way. Her cruelty didn’t stop me though, I think the best teachers are the ones that make you suffer. She pushed me to my limits and for that I thank her. Only by being challenged will we know our true potential. The second dietitian I followed around was in charge of the dialysis and children’s units. I learned so much from her because she basically handed me most of her work. Good thing I was eager to learn so I handled all the work quite well. The third dietitian was in charge of the aids unit. My absolute favorite as it was so interesting and challenging. The last dietitian I was suppose to follow fell sick so I was on my own. Good thing though because I was scared to death from all the stories that was told to me about her from the other dietitians. She was basically super anal, but that’s okay. To me, it just shows that she cares about her work and thinks it’s important. She was in charge of the Tubefeeding and Huntington units. I followed her written instructions of work for me and breezed through the week. I later found out she was happy with my work. *phew* The entire experience was life changing. I left TCC with confidence that I would be worthy of this work. That I would make a difference. With the help of my clinical preceptor, I was offered two jobs and accepted the one that was closest to me.

happy dietitian

Nursing Home Years…

I graciously accepted a Clinical Dietitian position at a nursing home in Jamaica Estates in 2007. I would be responsible for roughly 120 patients (or residents as we call them since the nursing home is where they reside). One short term unit and two long term units. Patients in the short term unit are usually admitted just for physical and/or occupational rehabilitation (s/p knee replacement, a fall, s/p fractures, etc). My job in short for the patients is basically to assess their needs, educate and make sure they are nutritionally sound. That’s the stuff that matters. The other nitty gritty jobs are documentation (till my hand falls off), filling out MDS forms, meal rounds, and care plan meetings.

When I first started, I was all about giving advice. I found out the hard way that most people (especially the elderly) don’t really care about nutrition. They’re already sick, feeling like crap, and the last thing they want to hear is someone telling them what they should be doing to improve their health. I quickly changed my tactics to be one who is inquisitive. I’d ask a lot of questions to get to know the patients, build rapport (by not giving advice), monitor their meal habits, monitor their weekly/monthly weight, and when the occasion arrived where I had to address a problem (weight loss >3 lbs/week, > 5lbs/month, and/or 5% in a month, weight gain >5lbs per week + month and/or >5% in a month, loss of appetite, etc) I handle it in the most gentle, non judgmental and caring manner. Much of my job involved detective work. Why did he lose weight? Why did he gain weight? Why isn’t he eating? Then explain the reasons. Documentation is key because it’s the only proof of nutritional interventions for specific problems. It’s strict, but it’s needed. I have to admit that sometimes, I feel more like a waitress trying to please the customers than a professional.

I’m a true believer in life is what you make of it. I focused on building relationships-with the patients, staff and family. I treat my patients as if they were my family members (well, most of them). Getting along with the nursing staff is so important. If there was a problem, who better to ask than the ones that are with them on a daily basis. I enjoyed my job very much and it was truly rewarding. As with any job, there are struggles that people face. I would have liked a more peaceful environment to interview the patients. Larger budget to provide more variety in the foods offered. More appealing therapeutic foods. More nursing staff. More dietitians. More doctors. More of everything good and true. But that’s wishful thinking because at the end of the day….it is a business.

happy dietitian

After work headache…

While working a full time job, I was also studying for my RD exam and pursuing my graduate degree. To prep for the exam I bought flash cards, studied my textbooks, took online tests and signed up for the Jean Inman study course. I guess it helped because I passed. Oh yes, dietitians are required to earn continuing education credits and pay CDR $50 every year to keep the RD title. You can also apply for a CDN if you’re in NY (Unfortunately, there’s no licensing in NY yet). Other credentials? CSG, CSSD, CSP, CSR, CSO, FADA and CDE.

My advice for students considering a field in dietetics (with my food service, nursing home and internship experience) is if you enjoy helping people, like to read, are patient and empathetic, don’t mind being treated like a waitress, are detail oriented, have a passion for nutrition, don’t mind the mediocre pay, are good at problem solving, have a great love for food-all kinds, work well with others, communicate well, are super organized, can deal with patient death, don’t mind the dirty stuff like poop, drool and urine, are willing to do volunteer work, can think outside of the box and sincerely care about people then this might just be the perfect job for you.

I hope this helps. I may have left out a few details so feel free to ask questions! I’m happy to help.

Related Posts:

What People Think Dietitians Do

happy dietitian

15 Little Things That Matter Most in a Nursing Home

happy dietitian

15 Nursing Home Rules

happy dietitian

23 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. chaucolate / Aug 1 2012 6:01 pm

    Thank you so much for writing this – your description was very clear and detailed (I guess that’s why you’re a dietitian). I think I can identify with most of the qualities you described needed to work in the field, although I was a bit scared off by how much rigamarole one has to go through to get qualification…it sounds like getting the degree, and becoming a RD might take more labor than getting a Masters in say, History (not that that isn’t hard as well). It sounds like that outside of taking classes, the required internships and tests to get to the finish line adds up to form a very demanding road towards becoming a dietitian. Was it a daunting path, or were you able to take everything in stride because you loved it so much? More technical question: can you tell me more about why your counselor suggested you study dietetics instead of nutrition? What is the difference between a dietitian and nutritionist? Thanks for your time, really enjoy reading your articles!

    • Happy Dietitian / Aug 5 2012 10:37 am

      oh no. My reply to you was deleted. =(

      • Happy Dietitian / Aug 5 2012 10:59 am

        ok let me try this again. Looking back, it was not a daunting path. There were a few hiccups but trust me, there are hiccups with every field. I think what I experienced most was cattiness/gossip, miserable people who like to make others miserable, and tough professors (who wants to challenge you). We can’t control most of the things that happen to us but we can control our attitudes. Beat negative people with positive energy and they can’t help but like us (or hate us even more haha).

        The main difference between a dietitian and a nutritionist is that dietitians are required to have a BA or BS, intern, take a RD exam and are required to have continuing education (acrue points by attending conferences/read books, etc-doesn’t have to be a MA/MS/MPH/MBA). A nutritionist doesn’t have to do any of the above. I can read a book about nutrition and call myself a expert nutritionist. Hospitals and Skilled nursing homes will not hire a nutritionist. Nutritionists usually work in gyms, health food stores, food photography, maybe labs?, spas, etc.

        Hope this helps!

  2. chaucolate / Aug 5 2012 7:01 pm

    Happy Dietitian, great response, thank you! You’re right about the above, with every field being difficult, but it sounds like you are one of the serious, hard working and optimistic students out there :)
    Thank you for the explanation – I’ve been researching what the main differences, but have run into a lot of responses filled with jargon a/or people who seem like they don’t know what they’re talking about…your answer was detailed but very clear, thanks!

  3. jjew / Sep 22 2012 8:03 am

    Hi! Do you mind if I reblog this entry onto the UC Berkeley SDA blog? I found it to be a very interesting read since it’s the first candid account of a dietetic internship that I’ve come across, and I’d like to share with other club members and potential Cal dietetics students.

  4. jjew / Sep 22 2012 8:25 pm

    Reblogged this on UC Berkeley's Student Dietetic Association and commented:
    Carolina came across Wendy Wu’s (MS, RD) blog, and I started looking through the entries and thought that her account of becoming an RD was a very interesting read and wanted to share! I also recommend checking out her blog :)

  5. Kevin T / Oct 18 2012 12:11 am

    Hi I’m currently started a community college to become an RD, I prefer to go the MA maybe MS/route because of I love social sciences. I have mild aspergers but have a strong interest in all subjects, I have an older basic introduction to nutrition book which examples basic biochemistry in the field I read for fun. I bought it at good will flow $2. It’s from the 80s, but a lot of the fad diets are the same. For example it shows, biochemically through diagraphs, the conversion of an unsaturated fatty acid to saturated through hydrogens being added to a double bond. It also explains also how trans fatty acids are formed, from the cis molecular configuration (Hs on same same side of the double bond) to trans (opposite sides) where during hydrogenation the Hs stick out on opposite sides of the double bond. It’s pretty interesting! The book is old, made in the 80s, but strangely a lot of the same fad diets then have resurfaced now. It’s the third edition of “Understanding Nutrition” by Whitney Hamilton . Also, I have personal experience with eating disorders, despite my psyciatrist , and most others, except one in a mental health crisis center, all my therapist, my whole mental health clinical team, every social worker, except 1, all doctors, except one (all of these exceptions are in ER or mental health crisis centers, which my whole clinical team refuses to treat me also for, they told me that diagnoses doesn’t mean anything since its not from my primary psyciatrist , I’ve starved myself for 2 weeks, after I’d already lost 104 lbs healthily before this ( it wasn’t until I noticed the loose skin looked like fat this became an issue, besides the binge eating ) by throwing up (bulima) 50 times a day. I went to 7 hospitals , one Dr. Told me I needed ED help and tried to get me inpatient at the ER
    after having severe stomach pain and nausea, but the social worker dismissed it. The last hospital treated me, since I lifted weights 5x a week, I am very muscular, and at a healthy body fat around 10 to 11%. The pscyiatrist there also dismissed it , he said because I , “wasn’t in denial” and my knowledge of eating healthy and nutrition. He was amazed at my weight loss, even going to my online progress food journeys I did everyday for 2 years and photo comparisons doing the weight loss. I had low electrolytes and A hiatal hernia, severe swelling and inflammation the bowels, and a possible bowel infection. I was inpatient 4 days with severe pain (4 injections of morphine a day was the only painkiller that helped), almost had my gallbladder removed. I was discharged and given 2 anti biotics, as well as given 2 intravenously at the hospital. The next week was hell. Excruciating pain, Vicodin didn’t help and neither did ant anti nausea meds prescribed. The last hospital I went to (who was so nice before, this was the same and only hospital to admit me. ) said to me in an angry voice, while I was almost screaming from the pain, “I’m discharging you right now,
    . I’m done playing into your obsession. You saw our pscyiatrist, nothing is wrong with you. See your psyciatrist for the pain. ” then left. I got angry, walked to the nurses and explained, “how can you do this! The pain is excruciatingly bad. Can’t I at least have pain meds,please, do something !” As I shouted this angrily they ordered me to sit back down or they’d call security, then shouted, “don’t use that language with me! Go sit back down on your bed now!!” I did and she almost ripped me IV out, I thanked her and she said nothing and I was discharged. After that (and a letter from my physician, another pscyiatrist from a crisis center/hospital diagnosed me with bulimia) she still demands I don’t have an ED. I’m really upset , depressed and angry. I have to now ride 4.or 5 hours to a different psychiatric clinic, by bus, because they refuse to treat the ED at all, ESP with a program for it fully covered under my insurance. They said today, “you got to go to another clinic farther away because none of the psyciatrists here will help you”. And I continue to fight, sorry for how long. Please read Les Miserables by Victor Hugo unabridged, my fav book of all time… Talk about love and compassion to others… Good day!

    • Happy Dietitian / Nov 1 2012 11:57 am

      I’m sure your passion for nutrition and personal experiences will make you a great dietitian.

      I’ve seen les miserables on broadway and can’t wait for the movie version! I prefer to read self enrichment/nutrition books but thanks for the suggestion.

      Good luck with your studies!

  6. lulu / Jul 1 2013 11:39 pm

    Hi, I know this post is really old but I just stumbled across it through a google search. I’m a 27 year old post baccalaureate nutrition student and already have a degree in communications. I’ve been in the DPD program for a year and a half now and I’m constantly worried if I’m making a mistake. I decided to try to become an RD because I’m interested in Nutrition and from research I did I heard that jobs were plentiful and that the pay was good. It was something I’d been thinking about doing for a little while and the deadline to apply at my university was looming so I jumped into it with some encouragement from family.

    Now, it seems like I didn’t do enough research and I’m hearing that the pay is not great (which isn’t a huge deal for me), that the job is stressful and it’s hard to advance..etc. I’m also finding that I’m less and less interested in nutrition now and have to push myself to care about what I’m studying. I’m also very shy and introverted and I am seeing how extroverted and engaging my fellow dietetic students are and I’m feeling intimidated. I’m also finding out more and more how important it is to be extroverted and a people person in the RD world. (my fault again for not digging deeply enough and being blinded by romanticized notions of the career).

    I’m not getting any younger and I’ve wasted enough time and money trying to figure out what career path to choose but I’ve had this constant voice in the back of my head telling me I’m making a mistake and that being an RD is not the path for me. The only motivations keeping me going are: the thought that I can get out of the career after a couple of years if I can’t stand it, what my family/friend will think of me if I quit, the noble notion of finishing what I started, that this will be a time of personal growth as I’ve dealt with depression and anxiety in the past (but i’m gambling serious time & money!). I’m also trying to convince myself that I just want a job that I will not hate.

    I plan to talk to a career counselor and also shadow some RD’s because I know the work ahead and have to be certain if this is all going to be worth it.

    I was just wondering what you would do if you were in my shoes based on what you know of the RD career. Sorry for unloading all this on you and I know it’s alot to ask but I’m sort of going crazy with worry about all of this. You also seem to be passionate but also very realistic and honest about the field. Anyway, thanks for listening and I appreciate any advice you can give :)

    • Happy Dietitian / Jul 2 2013 11:34 am

      Dear Lulu,

      I can relate to what you’re going through. Correct me if I’m wrong but this is what you’re telling me.
      You’re not sure if nutrition is the right path for you because:
      1. You’re not very interested in your nutrition coursework or of what is being taught in your uni.
      2. You’re worried that being shy and introverted will be disadvantageous as a RD.
      3. You’re worried that being a RD will be very stressful and that it will be hard to advance in the field.

      Am I correct? Lets say that I have correctly summarized what you’re feeling.

      In regards to your first concern I’d like to say that university coursework can be quite dull. Most of my nutrition classes were torture. For a subject to be interesting and fun, the professor has to be extremely creative. I learn best when I read nutrition books written for the lay public (vs textbooks), interesting blogs and listening to ted talks/YouTube videos. I receive news articles on nutrition everyday but I’m not always in the mood to read them. I also receive journals that I don’t open. It doesn’t mean that I’m not passionate about my work, I’m just not interested in the way the information is presented. So I would much rather read ten 200 page books vs reading a textbook.
      I’d suggest reading some of my favorite nutrition book recommendations and decide if nutrition still interest you.

      http://happydietitian.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/12-nutrition-books-that-will-change-your-life/

      Being shy and introverted can be to your advantage. I am also extremely shy and introverted. My ideal job would probably be some sort of work from home desk job. When I was working in the nursing home, I had to prep myself before seeing patients. This summer, I took a job as a lecturer in a college and I was nauseous for two weeks from the anxiety. What I have learned is that if we don’t challenge ourselves, we will never know our full potential. Don’t let fear and insecurities stop you from achieving your dreams. I’m currently reading Quiet by Susan Cain (watch her ted talk-she’s amazing) and I learned that “introverts are capable of acting like extroverts for the sake of work they consider important, people they love, or anything they value highly”. Introverts are also some of the best leaders because we often lead from the back through motivation and encouragement (preferred method) as opposed to leading from the front (authoritative-micro managing). The benefit of being an extrovert is that through networking (being talkative, meeting new people and friendly) they’re exposed to more opportunities. Extroverts tend to make more acquaintances and introverts tend to make less acquaintances but more lasting friendships. I guess what I’m trying to say is that being an introvert can be to your advantage, especially as a nutrition counselor. Introverts tend to be more empathetic, caring, cooperative, better with the little details (very important as a clinical dietitian), more careful with words we choose to express (impt as counselor), etc. Most RDs that I know would label themselves as introverts for sure.

      In NYC, salary for a Registered Dietitian is around 35-55k. It’s quite difficult for advancement and it can be stressful. But most jobs are stressful-especially if you have a mean boss. I’ve been lucky, all of my precious bosses have been wonderful and understanding. The stress I felt was mostly from the high standards I set for myself. Also from occasional high workload and when the state comes for inspection.

      What’s wonderful about becoming a RD is that you have choices! You can go the clinical dietitian route in a hospital or nursing home, community RD route educating the public (food banks/WIC/schools), food service route, health/beauty centers route, etc.

      Talking to a counselor and shadowing RDs will definitely help you make the ultimate decision of whether you should become a RD or not.

      I will also recommend reading:

      Jack Canfield-The success principles
      Joy Baur-Food Cures
      John Robbins-Food Revolution
      Dale Carnegie’s How to win friends and influence people
      Susan Cain-Quiet

      Good Luck and keep me updated! Feel free to email me at happydietitian@gmail.com.

      -Wendy

  7. miss tee / Oct 28 2013 9:54 pm

    Hi,thank you so much for the detailed info on life as a dietitian. Currently considering career options as a 20yr old and I feel like I’m always going back and forth between communications/business management or dietetics. I ‘fell in love’ with dietetics when I came across the career info about a year ago but every time I begin to seriously consider it,my memories of high sch chemistry days leave me doubtful,yet I like to achieve excellence in whatever I do. Last time I was in school was 2008,I’m willing to work at it though if I could just make peace with my dread of chemistry. I plan to continue my education in at least two years-God helping me!but I like to be prepared. Is there any book on chemistry or biochemistry you think could help me with my ‘chemico-bravery’ or am I simply not cut out for it:-) thanks for this fantastic blog,either way!

    • Happy Dietitian / Oct 29 2013 6:35 am

      Hi There! Don’t ever say you’re not cut out for it ever again! =) You can do it! I hate Chemistry too! Thinking about it makes me shiver. What I’d suggest is to read the chapters before class (which I’m sure you’ll do), if you have any difficulty with class material, make sure you go see your Professor during office hours, and make sure you ask questions if you don’t understand something in class. Most Professors appreciate students who are concerned with coursework and are willing to put in the hours to learn. If you show that you’re willing to work at it, your professor will do the best he or she can to help you. Professors need feedback too. If the class is boring or confusing, then he or she might need to improve his or her teaching method. Hope this helps. KIT!

  8. miss tee / Oct 30 2013 5:34 pm

    Thanks a lot for taking the time to reply,you just gave me a much needed umph:-) God bless u!

  9. Jess / Nov 7 2013 4:18 am

    Hi! I just stumbled upon this post and was wondering if you had any advice for a terrified undergrad student like myself :)
    I’m currently 21 years old and will be graduating this spring with my degree in nutrition and dietetics….ahhh! I guess my biggest fear is that I don’t know what to do once I graduate! For instance, a few months ago I thought I had the perfect plan. I was set on getting my MS right after my undergrad degree, and I figured I would use the time while at grad school to gain more work experience, and would then apply for the dietetic internship once I graduated from grad school and had all those bases covered. However, I’m beginning to wonder if this longer career route that I was imagining even makes any sense, seeing as dietitians have to work so hard to get into an internship only to receive mediocre pay once we finish! While I definitely do want to get my MS one day, I’m beginning to second guess getting my MS directly after my undergraduate degree, seeing as this would only add to my student loan payments…not to mention all of the other payments that come with getting into a dietetic internship! Oh the joys of being a nutrition major…

    I suppose it makes more sense to combine the internship with the graduate degree instead of doing them separately (plus it would save time). It just sounds so intimidating to do both at the same time! Did you ever feel overwhelmed by doing both? Did your internship ever assign you “homework” or projects that you had to complete on your own time outside of your internship? I guess my biggest concern is how stressful the dietetic internship is, because I’ve heard some pretty negative stories (even from some of my professors) that the internship was one of the hardest things they’ve ever had to do. Not necessarily motivating, right? I am also more of an introvert and I’m definitely beginning to feel petrified of what’s ahead, and I even doubt my abilities to become a successful dietitian at times because of this!

    Any tips/advice that can ease my anxiety about the future? I would appreciate anything at this point!

    Best of luck to you and thank you again for offering such helpful advice on your blog!

    • Happy Dietitian / Nov 7 2013 8:59 am

      Hi Jess,

      Internships with big companies like sodexho and aramark is going to be tough. My internship was actually not that bad. I didn’t have any homework from the internship. I only took two classes at the time and was able to juggle both with not too much trouble. If you’re doing an internship through your college, maybe start out with taking just one class. When I was working full time, I registered for only one class per semester. Internships are meant to torture you. Just be mentally prepared. A lot of new things will be thrown at you all at once. Don’t worry though. We all make it out alive. You’ll be fine. Stay positive. Face the challenge head on. Have you read The Success Principles by Jack Canfield? I highly recommend it. I’m probably one of the most shy, introverted, anxious person you’ll ever meet. I still get nauseous and stomach aches before a big talk. If I can do it, you can do it! KIT!

      • Jess / Nov 7 2013 11:50 pm

        Thank you so much for responding. I will definitely look into reading The Success Principles by Jack Canfield… sometimes motivational books really do make all the difference! And thank you for helping me realize that the dietetic internship IS possible! I know I can do it as long as I’m mentally prepared. Thanks again for the help and advice :)

      • Happy Dietitian / Nov 8 2013 4:27 am

        *Thumbs up*

  10. Grace / Jan 9 2014 5:03 pm

    I loved this reading! I’m starting the same program at QC as well and I’m just curious about the duration that it took you in your undergrad to complete this and also the annual salary for an RD?

    Thanks!

    • Happy Dietitian / Jan 9 2014 6:03 pm

      I’m not sure what the annual salary in NY is anymore. You can google it to find out.

      It took me 5 years to complete my undergrad. I also have a minor in Anthropology. =)

  11. Jada / Jan 19 2014 2:33 am

    Hi, I’m currently a grade12 students and I’ve applied to nutrition in universities. I do have a passion for food and cooking and biology and human relationships but I was never good at chemistry-in fact it has been my worst subject growing up, even until now. Tell me honestly, please. Is it almost impossible for a person who dislikes chemistry in high school to go into a dietetics major and be successful in it?
    What is a typical day like as a dietitian? Is it a fulfilling job? Is the pay really that poor?
    Pleaseeeee thanks!!

    • Jada / Jan 19 2014 2:34 am

      grade 12 student*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

