Skip to content
March 7, 2013 / Happy Dietitian

My Pledge for National Nutrition Month March 2013

The theme for this year is “Eat Right, Your Way, Every Day”. We are individuals with different food preferences, lifestyles, cultures, and health concerns. There isn’t a one size fits all when it comes to eating. Since I encourage my clients to make changes, I decided that I should make some changes of my own in honor of National Nutrition Month. I assessed my meals and decided to do the following.

1. Try a new vegetable everyday. I’m very loyal to broccoli and gai-lan, but eating a variety of vegetables will ensure that I’m getting different nutrients. So far, I’ve tried broccoflower (tastes exactly like cauliflower) and teeny tiny baby white bok choy. Both very delicious.

weird vegetable  vegetables

2. Switch to decaf coffee. Some people can handle regular coffee with no problem but I’m not one of those people. Drinking regular coffee makes me super jittery and anxious. Concentrated tea does the same. I will make my coffee in the morning with half regular and half decaf.

3. Eat more legumes. To be honest, I’ve never been a fan of beans. I find them a little too dry and I don’t appreciate the “side effects”. I will try to steam small red beans and brown rice together in my rice cooker.

4. Cut back on meat. There’s more and more research linking red meat, poultry and dairy consumption to cancer. I’m also concerned about the hormones, antibiotics and added chemicals. Not to mention, raising animals for food damages the environment. You may ask where I’ll be getting my protein. Not to worry, I’ll get them from these foods.

5. Stabilize my blood sugars. As a child, I would drink sugar from the packets. Sometimes, my breakfast would consist of chips, candy and a grenade drink. My cavities can prove it. I didn’t know any better. Now I understand that it’s important to eat every 3-4 hours, have protein with every meal to stay fuller for longer, and eat mostly fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts and whole grains. I try to limit my overall added sugar intake to about 5 teaspoons a day but I’ll indulge once in a while, especially if it’s chocolate cake.

I’ll let you guys know my progress on March 13, 2013 which is Registered Dietitian day!

What small changes are you willing to make towards even better health? Were your parents health conscious? If not, what made you more health conscious? Were grenade drinks part of your childhood? Did you ever drink sugar directly from the packet?

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. iqtsarahs / Mar 7 2013 5:19 pm

    One thing I started to do this yr (this months lol) is “EAT Breakfest”. I always skip breakfast and just eat big lunch and wait for another 6-7 hrs eat big dinner. I think I need to do regular meal with small snack. Now I go buy some fruits so I can eat them as snacks while in between and of course drink more water (I probably only drink 2 or 3 cup a day). I notice water can help release all the toxin and keep your body health too. So more water and less bubble tea. My last agency was next to Coco and I buy bubble tea every day. This year I am going to commit myself less bubble tea (sweet) but drink at least 8 cups of water and eat health breakfast. Or brew my own green tea with no sugar to replace those sweet bubble tea. I’m aiming to loose fat since they are not health. : )

    • Happy Dietitian / Mar 7 2013 5:56 pm

      Sarah, what you’re doing sounds great! Eating breakfast, snacking on fruits, replacing bubble tea with water and drinking green tea will definitely help you lose weight.

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities / Mar 9 2013 3:52 am

    It’s time for you to eat more kale :)

    • Happy Dietitian / Mar 9 2013 4:22 am

      Haha, another one of those vegetables not available in HK but we do have Chinese kale and it’s probably just as good, if not better. Have you tried?

  3. Linh Vuong / Mar 13 2013 9:19 pm

    Happy RD Day!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

