Holy Grail Beauty Favorites of 2012

best beauty 2012

Last year was definitely a year of experimenting with beauty products. My body wasn’t used to the Hong Kong weather and retaliated with massive break outs and major allergic skin reactions. A visit to the dermatologist and regular facial sessions calmed down the attacks however, other problems emerged with changes to the new environment:

-Since I’m closer to the equator, sun spots started to become more noticeable. I had to find products with better sun protection and more coverage to conceal my dark spots.

-The hot humid weather also required makeup that would be waterproof and crease-less.

-Skin became super sensitive.

-The harsh HK water and hair perming resulted in hay-like hair. I had to find products that would soften up my ends.

After these changes, I tested out a good number of beauty products and I’ve finally narrowed down my favorites of 2012. All of the products mentioned are items I would repurchase time and time again (unless I find something better). Proceed for product listing.

Product List (picture links to amazon:

Avene Gentle Milk Cleanser-Used in the morning for gentle cleansing (135hkd at colourmix)

Bliss Foaming Face Wash-Smells divine

Laneige Skin Refiner Sensitive-Helped with clearing up my skin (170hkd at bonjour)

Mario Badescu Facial Spray-Perfect Toner or Makeup Setter (99hkd at anthonG)

Skinceuticals Hydrating B5-Locks in moisture

Olay Regenerist Micro-Sculpting Serum-To fight fine lines and wrinkles (200hkd)

eos lip balm-Honeydew (29hkd at bonjour)

GoodSkin Labs Z-pore Instant Refiner-Fill in pores and control oil (250hkd at sasa)

Skin 79 Gold BB cream-Light coverage with healing properties (89hkd at sasa)

Milani Baked Blush-Rose-Doro

Etude House eyebrow kit (98hkd at colourmix)

Shu uemura eyelash curler-Perfect fit for my eyes

Loreal Infallible Eye shadows-Pigmented, doesn’t crease, long lasting+ blendable.

Majolica Majorca Lash Expander-Holds curl+ lengthens.

Maybelline Mineral Power Concealer-Nice coverage without looking cakey (55hkd)

Revlon Lip Butter-Strawberry Shortcake (98hkd)

QV Cream (cheaper alternative is aqueous cream)

Bliss Lemon + Sage Soap

Body Shop Soaps-Satsuma and Pink Grapefruit

Dove Go Fresh in Plum and Sakura Blossom-Can’t get over the smell

Dove Nourishing Oil Care Hair Therapy (49hkd)

Lucido-L Hair Treatment Essence (59hkd)

KAO Essential Damage Honey Shea Butter Intensive Hair Treatment (49hkd)

Beauty Quest Renovating Serum

thefaceshop Green Tea Eye and Lip Makeup Remover

Heroine Make mascara remover (59hkd)

Gosh Bronzing Shimmer 001

Everyday Minerals Makeup Brushes

Maybelline Babylips (23hkd)

banila co. Eye Love Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil (14000 won)

Maybelline Watershine lipstick-207 (35hkd)

Shu uemura Lip gloss-PK 333s

elf studio line lipstick-Runway Pink

Media by Kanebo Lip liners (43hkd)

Random tweezer from sasa/bonjour (12hkd)

Lady Primrose Lotion and Soap

Related Posts:

Most Raved Skincare 2012

cure

Most Raved Makeup 2012

lipstick happy dietitian

15 Favs for November

mac brushes

5 thoughts on “Holy Grail Beauty Favorites of 2012

  1. Lots of great products! 2012, was a year for discovery for me too! I started taking care of my skin alot better, this means ALWAYS wearing sunscreen and changing my diet (dairy free) to help improve my skin. ( I did several posts about this, this past fall).

  2. Hello! Where did you buy your Beauty Quest Renovating Serum? I’ve been trying to find it and most of the places I’ve searched don’t sell it in the USA or ship international…so if you could let me know, I’d appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

