Positive Attitude. Overcoming Obstacles. Setting Goals. Making it Happen.

In this post, I want to focus on mental well-being. Many times, negative self talk prevent us from achieving our goals. Let’s talk about how to get what we want by changing the way we think and feel about ourselves.

1) The first step is taking 100% responsibility for your life. Be accountable and don’t blame everything and everyone around you. If you feel that things are not going the way you want, you are the only one that can change the outcome. No excuses. Take a step back and think to yourself:

If my life were a book, and I the author, how would I want this story to go? -Amy Purdy

By Killer b. Designs
By Killer b. Designs

2) You may not have control over what happens to you, but you do have control over your reaction. Convert negative, self destructive, limiting thoughts, into positive, confident thoughts.

Negative self talk sound something like this:

“I’m not good enough”, “Nobody wants to hear what I have to say”, “I’m gonna make a fool out of myself”, “People are going to judge and laugh at me”, “What if I fail”, “I can’t believe I just ate that”, “I’m so gross”, “I can’t”…

You haven’t even done anything and your ego is already inserting doubt. These thoughts stop you from reaching your potential. You might also want to distance yourself from people who put you down.

Turn these negative thoughts into positive thoughts. YES YOU CAN!

Ex: A local university is looking for a lecturer. You think to yourself, I can’t do it, I’m going to make a fool out of myself. You end up doing nothing. What if your thought process changed? What if you thought to yourself, Hey I can give it a shot. The worst that could happen is they say no but they could also say, Welcome to the team! You won’t know until you try.

she did it

3) Hop over barriers. Learn how to deal with obstacles and rise above them. What are the challenges you face that prevent you from getting what you want or reaching your goal? Identify your barriers and find solutions.

Ex: You want to lose weight but your family isn’t supportive.

Barrier: Non-supportive family

Solution: Find support through friends or community support systems. Confront your family.

4) Focus on what you want and make a list of specific, realistic goals for yourself. Why are these goals important to you?

Ex: “I will volunteer with HandsOn.com“, “I want to buy an apartment-I will save $600 a month”,  “I will drink a glass of water first thing in the morning”, “I will buy easy to eat fruits and leave them on my kitchen counter top”, “I will pack a box of salad for lunch 2 times a week”…

5) Picture yourself already achieving your goals. How does it feel?

Amy Purdy: Living beyond limits

Leave a Reply

