Dachen Island Ginger Noodles

943434_10151950540543569_1977868713_n

Ginger noodles is my ultimate comfort food. My mom would make it twice a year at most and I always have her make extra so I can eat it for days. The dried ginger used for the recipe has to be purchased from Da Chen residents of a village in Linyuan, Kaohsiung in Taiwan.  Since we lived in the U.S., we would have to inconvenience family members to bring back the highly prized ginger. Luckily for me, I live in HK now and can pretty easily travel to Taiwan. I went there twice last summer to visit my goo-ma and also picked up some ginger. It’s a bit sad that I don’t know much about the history of the Dachen people and I can’t seem to find much literature on the internet. My generation will be the last to know the language, food, and traditions. My mission now is to document as much I can about Dachen food. The first being, ginger noodles.

969026_10151951374473569_1780959514_nDried ginger from Lin Yuan and dried shrimps from Donggang. Use about a cup of ginger to make a pot of soup (ginger water base). Simmer the soup for at least 3 hours.

942015_10151950539913569_592560802_n

Prep all the ingredients: rice noodles, dried water lilies, dried shitake mushroom, bamboo, egg, dried shrimps, Chinese celery, pork, liver, kidney and ginger.

Scramble the egg with wine, salt and pepper; set aside.

Sauteed the liver and kidney with ginger, shaoxing wine and sesame oil; set aside.

Saute pork, hydrated mushroom, hydrated dried shrimps, and bamboo. Add ginger soup. When boiling, add hydrated lily flowers.

Finally, add celery, cooked liver, kidney and scrambled egg to the pot of soup. Serve with rice noodles.

2 thoughts on “Dachen Island Ginger Noodles

  1. OMG, I can’t believe I stumbled upon this! Our Dachen culture is so small and obscure that I also feared it was largely disappearing. My parents still speak the language, as do most of my older cousins. My sisters and I can understand it, but can’t speak it.

    I would not have imagined that someone had documented a recipe for the ginger noodle soup on the internet! I shared this page with my sisters and one of them replied with a link to your “ma yue jie” recipe. Blew. My. Mind. It is almost exactly dish-for-dish how our family prepares it! I bet our parents/grandparents lived in the same village in Kaohsiung.

    This is a link to archival footage of the evacuation of Dachen Island which is the origin of Taiwan’s Dachen population. My dad was 11 and my mom was 3 during the evacuation.
    (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qm7-XpLZI-E)

    1. This is awesome and totally made my day. I bet we’re related! Haha where are you living now?

      How in the world did you find that video, I only found one article online about the Dachen noodles made from ground up fish. Would love to learn more so please share if you come across any more videos/articles.

      It’s really sad to know that the dachen language will no longer exist after our generation. Someone should document it!

Leave a Reply

