Spicy Marinated Avocado Salad

I’m always looking for different ways to eat avocados so I can reap the benefits of this nutrient packed fruit. Avocados are loaded with folate, vitamin C, vitamin K and omega-3 fatty acids. The protein content is also pretty high for a fruit but so are the calories. One avocado is around 320 calories. Like every other high calorie food, moderation is key if you’re watching your figure.

20140221-163635.jpg

Choosing avocados can be pretty tricky. For some reason, only the avocados I buy at Jason’s have been good. Avocados I buy at vanguard or Aeon always turn black when I cut them open, even though it feels firm from the outside. Luckily, brown avocados (not rotten) can be made into a face or hair mask. You don’t have to throw them away!

For this recipe, I was inspired by the avocado salad at Shatin 18. I mixed together light soy sauce, fresh garlic (2 slivers), tiny bit of panda brand oyster sauce and grandma’s spicy chili oil. Mix the sauce and pour over cubed avocados. The result is pretty darn tasty and I think the secret ingredient is the chili sauce.

20140221-163642.jpg

Leave a Reply

